Latest Post

21 hours ago by Victoria Bell

Re: The Beach

view post

Orton Effect

Newer Topic | Older Topic

Orton Effect posted by pathography January 25, 2009 05:51AM reply | quote
posted by pathography

Something that I stumbled upon, and have never heard of. Does any one know anything about it, or have LB example? Its something that took my fancy so I reckon that I am going to try to figure it out. I reckon that the babies were made for things like this...
Re: Orton Effect posted by Howie January 25, 2009 09:14AM reply | quote
posted by Howie

Pathography, I am new to using a Lensbaby so I am not sure how to get the "Orton" effect using a Lensbaby.

However, on the online photo image editor, www.picnik.com, there is a creative effect you can apply called "Orton-ish" It's located under the "Create" tab under "Effects." I used "Orton-ish" on the photo I've attached of my pug mix, Lucy.

Good luck!
Re: Orton Effect posted by ranfoto January 25, 2009 03:01PM reply | quote
posted by ranfoto

From Orton Effect PCIN.net

You can use the same technique as with film, two images, overexposed the same way, and in your image editing program place your out of focus image on tip of your in focus image as a layer and choose multiply as your blending mode. Of course this means always taking at least two images of your scene and always using a tripod. Another method is to use a single image to create a layer, now opening up the effect to any image you have in your collection.

See PCIN.net for complete information, several Benders have used this effect in the past .....but it slips my mind where to point you to, maybe use search under Orton effect ?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/25/2009 03:05PM by ranfoto.
Re: Orton Effect posted by prfrobbins January 25, 2009 11:17PM reply | quote
posted by prfrobbins

Have a look here.

[pcin.net]

Mild Ramblings at [www.philipnotphil.com]
Biscuit Tin at [www.biscuit-tin.com]
Flickr Set [www.flickr.com]