Lensbaby Studio Forums

Latest Post

7 hours ago by PBlais

Re: Wedding moments 2

view post

Right Lensbaby for the Job?

Newer Topic | Older Topic

Right Lensbaby for the Job? posted by niceparabola January 24, 2009 02:13AM reply | quote
posted by niceparabola
Hey there. So I'm completely new to this whole wonderful world of Lensbaby. And even though I've been taking photos as a hobby for about 3/4 years now, I'm pretty much a dunce when it comes to lenses and camera tech stuff in general.

I've figured out a technique for getting very selective focus that gives an overall dreamy sort of look, as seen in my pictures that I included here.

So what I've been doing is holding my Asahi Super-Takumar 1:1.8/55 lens in front of the camera body on my Canon EOS Rebel XTi, and angling it in order to get the kind of focus that I want. And I really love this technique and it's been working super well for me.

But it seems like using a Lensbaby might just be a smarter way of going about it? Or at least more practical. It'd be nice to have the lens actually -attached- to the camera body. Sometimes it's hard to stabilize the lens when I'm holding it away from the camera.

So. I'm thinking that the Muse would probably be the best option for the results I'm looking for. What I'm not sure of is which optic I should get to go along with it. I figured anything but the Double Glass.

What I need/want from the lens and optic is to keep getting a similar look [light leaks, lens flares, distortion but the ability to get sharp focus on the areas I want while still having softness in other areas] to what I have been with my Pentax technique.

Sorry if I rambled on for too long... but. Thanks for your help :) I'm pretty excited by the possibilities a Lensbaby could bring me...

-Alie

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/24/2009 02:15AM by niceparabola.
Re: Right Lensbaby for the Job? posted by niceparabola January 24, 2009 06:29AM reply | quote
posted by niceparabola