4 hours ago by RichB

Re: Fisheye Star Trails

view post

Flash settings

Newer Topic | Older Topic

Flash settings posted by Will_s1986 November 20, 2012 11:19PM reply | quote
posted by Will_s1986
Hi,

I'm new to lensbaby and I have got the composer with double glass optic and my camera is the Nikon D3100! I have worked out that I can only use the lens with camera and flash in manual mode but can someone well me or at least point me in the right direction of what I need to put the flash intensity in?!?

Hope this made some sence will
Re: Flash settings posted by PBlais April 23, 2014 05:43AM reply | quote
posted by PBlais
Yup, A Nikon D3100 as well as all D3xxx and D5xxx cameras are totally manual - no camera light meter enabled. You go manual mode and set ISO and shutter speed then focus the Lensbaby and shoot. I shoot a D5200 but I used to have a D3100. I don't have an advantage over you that way.

1. First option just get better at guessing and reading the histogram off the camera after each shot. That works but you have to stick with it. You double the ISO or shutter until it is bright enough.

2. OR buy a cheap old school light meter. You can get them for about $40 used ebay usually has a bunch any day of the week. Most are in nice condition. I have a Gossen Pro F ($37) and it seems complicated until you read the directions and then you'll love it. That will set your shutter speed based on the lensbaby F stop and your ISO setting on the camera. It will show all possible F stop / shutter speed combinations too. It's pretty slick how they work. No LED's all just manual dials you turn.