Lensbaby Studio Forums

Latest Post

3 hours ago by ebby62

Tiny Red Beetle

view post

Camera upgrade help

Newer Topic | Older Topic

Camera upgrade help posted by EccentricPolaroids August 31, 2012 08:08AM reply | quote
posted by EccentricPolaroids
Ok so I am a high school student, and I'm upgrading my camera from a Nikon l110 to a interchangeable lens camera and I'm going to start taking photography classes at a local community college. I'm serious about photograpy but still am not that great with terms nor am I that great at figuring out what camera is right for me. Here are two links to my current photos with my slr ( i think that's what a single lens is called)

Ek-sen-trik.deviantart.com
Eilraennenharma.deviantart.com

I also want to learn how to do fisheye and better macro. Plz help! Idk really what to look for in a camera and need help.
Re: Camera upgrade help posted by SeanM September 10, 2012 12:42PM reply | quote
posted by SeanM

So I'm pretty new to interchangeable lenses too, but I noticed nobody wanted to post, so I thought I'd chime in a bit of what I'd learned so far.

Being a student, I'd go with something cheap and basic to start out. The few online resources I've read really seem to emphasize lens quality over body quality, especially for the beginner. You can always get a better camera body later, as long as the awesome lenses you buy now will fit it. I'd go with a basic starter DSLR package from like Costco or Amazon. They both have fairly inexpensive camera body packages, like the Nikon D3100, or The Canon T3i. You could even check Craigslist.

I bought my Canon T3 on a whim during a black friday mad dash through Walmart just last November, and someday, I'll get something more substantial, but while I'm getting the basics down, what I have is just perfect.
Re: Camera upgrade help posted by Marcum September 20, 2012 02:13PM reply | quote
posted by Marcum