Latest Post

4 hours ago by ebby62

fishing

view post

Help please

Newer Topic | Older Topic

Help please posted by joshuad January 04, 2012 04:11PM reply | quote
posted by joshuad
I am getting so frustrated. Just been out for the day with my lensbaby and am so unhappy with my pics how do people get their sweet spots so sharp??? I have an composer with double glass optics. any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.
I used my lensbaby on a portrait once and nailed the sweet spot after alot of attempts!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/04/2012 04:12PM by joshuad.
Re: Help please posted by TG-J (Admin) January 04, 2012 07:52PM reply | quote
posted by TG-J

Hi Joshua . (short answer) practice. I use a muse type, I have no experience with the composer , but , in principal it is the same. Take careful note of the graduation of the OOF areas in the frame . It is easy to accidently focus off the sweet spot and you can only tell by carefully looking at the other areas in the frame. The most telling sign is something in the background appearing sharper than your subject. So check carefully the areas either side of your point of focus , they should fall off equally either side & above & below. If not you are focusing the wrong part of the lens. Another thing you can try is focusing way past of or way infront of your subject . At some point you should see a ring of focus almost like a aberration, you know the center of which is the sweet spot. Remember with the DG optic it is way better to slightly front focus than back focus. Hope this makes sense. I remember after a couple of weeks of shooting with my LB2 I was ready to throw it. This is not an easy lens to use and it does take practice, but I can assure you once you get the hang of it you will love it & become the life of the party. :) tony

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/04/2012 07:54PM by TG-J.
Re: Help please posted by bigtalljohn January 05, 2012 06:03AM reply | quote
posted by bigtalljohn

Joshua