Lensbaby Studio Forums

Latest Post

15 hours ago by ebby62

Tiny Red Beetle

view post

Newbie Here...need some help please

Newer Topic | Older Topic

Newbie Here...need some help please posted by LisaV February 17, 2010 09:33AM reply | quote
posted by LisaV
OMG~So I just got the Muse, double and single optics WOOHOO! I am soooo new at this that I hope you seasoned vets will indulge me (fingers crossed). Ok, So I put on the double optic and go to the optic comparison page to see how changing the f/stop changes the picture. I take out my Canon EOS (Rebel XS) and change my setting to AV and guess what.....my f/stop was set to f00. I could not get it to change no matter what I did. So, I changed lenses and put one of my Canon lenses on and I was able to change my f/stop...put the muse back on and it went back to 00. I managed to find my manual and I learned that an f setting of 00 is the camera's way of telling you that a lens is not attached...what?! So, I am wondering if anyone out there knows how I can change my f/stop with the muse attached or will I forever be stuck with one setting for these crazy beautiful lenses????? I think I just felt a shudder from my inner creative self...ugh. Please tell me you can help....

Thanks~ Lisa (aka Newbie)
Re: Newbie Here...need some help please posted by AdamW February 17, 2010 11:06AM reply | quote
posted by AdamW

The Lensbaby can't communicate with the camera, so the camera doesn't know what aperture the lens is set at. This is okay.--the camera will still meter correctly. You change the aperture on the lens with the aperture disks. On the camera, you can shoot in Av and the camera will set the correct shutter speed, or you can shoot in M and adjust the shutter speed and ISO yourself.
Re: Newbie Here...need some help please posted by LisaV February 17, 2010 07:03PM reply | quote
posted by LisaV
Adam,