10 hours ago by ughridk

Re: #BlurOnPurpose Series

view post

Composer optic loose?

Newer Topic | Older Topic

Composer optic loose? posted by Waldo January 03, 2010 07:00AM reply | quote
posted by Waldo
Hi,

I'm new to the world of Lensbaby and I'm having lots of fun with my Composer. The more I use it though the more I'm wondering if my copy is as it should be. Sometimes when I focus something inside the lens seems to shift and suddenly the focus is slightly different. It's as if a glass element is slightly loose and able to move a bit back and forth. This has become more apparent since I got the wide angle accessory. Now when I turn the focus ring I can see the image 'vibrate' - I suspect due to the extra weight added in front of the moving part. Specifically I'm wondering if maybe my optic isn't arrested properly but I don't have the optics swap tool so I can't check that. Do others see this as well? It's not a huge deal but if it's not normal I would wanna take care of it while I can still exchange my composer.
Thanks so much for your feedback!
Re: Composer optic loose? posted by Crabcakes January 03, 2010 08:30AM reply | quote
posted by Crabcakes

Welcome Waldo!

I've actually had the same issue with my composer. However, I have had it for some time now and did not purchase it myself so I figure I'll just deal with it for now. If you purchased your LB recently, they come with a 30-day warranty, so you should be able to return/exchange it. I have always found the LB team to be extremely helpful in this regard. I suggest you contact their "Director of Customer Happiness" Kirsten at kirsten@lensbabies.com.

Best of luck to you and Keep It Bent!

Johnny Crabcakes

"Failure is the key to success;
Each mistake teaches us something."
--Morihei Ueshiba
Re: Composer optic loose? posted by Waldo January 03, 2010 08:37AM reply | quote
posted by Waldo