Latest Post

15 hours ago by TG-J

Re: Fisheye Star Trails

view post

indoor photos

Newer Topic | Older Topic

indoor photos posted by lkclark December 27, 2009 01:18AM reply | quote
posted by lkclark
I am new to lensbaby & my Nikon D5000. I can take decent outdoor shots, but I can't get any indoor shots. Not sure if I need a manual flash for the camera or what I need. I would appreciate any help I can get. Thank you.
Re: indoor photos posted by pennyeden December 27, 2009 01:42AM reply | quote
posted by pennyeden

hi have you changed your white balance for indoor lighting!!
Re: indoor photos posted by lkclark December 27, 2009 02:00AM reply | quote
posted by lkclark
no. Guess I need to get the manual out for my camera. What should the white balance be set at?
Re: indoor photos posted by pennyeden December 27, 2009 02:05AM reply | quote
posted by pennyeden

depends what indoor lighting you have either tungston or florescent.. :)
Re: indoor photos posted by bcwhite December 28, 2009 04:01AM reply | quote
posted by bcwhite

You could also try a faster ISO. My D80's defalt ISO was set to 400. I bumped it up to 1600 for indoor/low-lighting situations...makes a big difference. :)
Re: indoor photos posted by mvuori December 28, 2009 04:08AM reply | quote
posted by mvuori
Funny guesses that each address a different problem, while none can have any clue as to what "can't get any indoor shots" means. Doesn't the camera fire at all? Do the images come out completely black? It is hard to think of a white balance issue that would cause one to not "get any shots"...
Re: indoor photos posted by bcwhite December 28, 2009 10:48AM reply | quote
posted by bcwhite

-mvuori-

A fair comment. I guess I was assuming it was simply an underexposure issue. I mean if he was getting something in the out of doors than he would get at least some kind of exposure indoors...however underexposed it might have been. I suppose he could have been shooting in a closet or something......