Lensbaby Studio Forums

Latest Post

7 hours ago by Victoria Bell

Re: The Beach

view post

pinhole / zoneplate

Newer Topic | Older Topic

pinhole / zoneplate posted by vcryan7736 November 22, 2009 06:35AM reply | quote
posted by vcryan7736
I am new to the lensbaby system, and am at the stage of playing with all my new toys. I have the composer, and am currently investigating how to use the pinhole/ zoneplate. I am clueless. The suggested site to go to comes up with no text, just a blank grey screen. So I am free floating, I have the lens on, but can see nothing to focus or to compose for that matter, just squeezing the release and hoping. that cannot be the correct strategy???????
Any help would be great.
Thanks,
Victoria
Re: pinhole / zoneplate posted by ranfoto November 22, 2009 10:01AM reply | quote
posted by ranfoto

Well, the Lenscap was off.....right ? Hey don't laugh....it happens !
Since these optics require significant light to see with, you better go where there's plenty of it to start with.
Next ......maybe bolt the camera down on a tripod or something that you can do some long exposures without moving.

Start making some test exposures, doesn't matter where you start......too dark or too light make the corrections to get the exposure time in the ballpark .

If you want to test inside, try using some off camera flash .....hopefully you have a flash that is not built into your camera......flat lighting is too boring for makiing aRt with.

This should get you going .
Re: pinhole / zoneplate posted by etherize February 11, 2010 09:13AM reply | quote
posted by etherize

Hi,

I'm having a similar problem of not being able to see either through the viewfinder or using live view. At most, I can just *barely* make out a vague general shape by cupping one hand around the viewfinder--but this is really awkward. And still the subject is almost completely black.