Lensbaby Studio Forums

Latest Post

13 hours ago by CatGargoyle

Re: 2E245

view post

where is the sweet spot?

Newer Topic | Older Topic

where is the sweet spot? posted by lifewings March 06, 2009 05:23AM reply | quote
posted by lifewings
I am brand new to using a LB (just started playing with my COmposer today). I am also a bit dyslexic, and tend to need specific explanations at times of words others take for granted ... so please forgive the question.

Is the "sweet spot" the point of focus? or is it something different. As I follow the instructions, I first focus, the bend the lens to move the "sweet spot" and then refocus ... is this correct?

Do I need to return the lens to starting position each time I want to recompose, or pick a different point of focus or subject? Or do I just play with what I see in my viewfinder?

Also, if I lock focus with the lock focus ring, so I need to unlock it (ie, move it back toward the shutter button) each time I bend the lens or find a different focal point?

Thanks for your replies (and clearing up my confusion).
Re: where is the sweet spot? posted by ScottM March 06, 2009 07:50AM reply | quote
posted by ScottM

The sweet spot is the spot of focus and it sounds like you are doing it correctly. You dont have to return to the starting position each time you recompose but you may want to until you get comfortable with it. I dont believe the focus ring locks, the inner ring locks the bend in place. If this is what you mean then yes unlock it. Have fun and practice a bit and it will become second nature.
Scott

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/06/2009 07:51AM by ScottM.
Re: where is the sweet spot? posted by lifewings March 06, 2009 10:56AM reply | quote
posted by lifewings
Thanks Scott - that helps! I look forward to feeling that this is second nature -- right now anything but. I love the results people get with the lens, and I certainly intend to keep practicing so I can get to that point.