Latest Post

17 minutes ago by ranfoto

Re: Playing in the rain

view post

the ring

Newer Topic | Older Topic

the ring posted by Va girl October 26, 2008 10:09PM reply | quote
posted by Va girl

My daughter's friend came by yesterday to show us her engagement ring.... Just happened to have the 3G with me....would love to have your suggestions for improvement and also cropping ideas if needed.... thanks in advance.

(This was designed locally and I thought they would like one of these images.)

Pam
Re: the ring posted by Fugazi October 27, 2008 02:11AM reply | quote
posted by Fugazi

I'm no expert ... sure ... but you did ask for opinions ... ;-)
Serious, like the shots ... but I would place the ring a bit more 'off-centre' ... certainly for the first picture.

I'm sure they liked the pictures ...
Re: the ring posted by ranfoto October 27, 2008 04:45AM reply | quote
posted by ranfoto

Pam .....cropping time on number one.....too much hand for a great composition . I feel it's either all the hand, with Bent fingers or super soft macro on the ring .

The other images have too many distracting fingers and nails for my subtle tastes on such subjects .

Ring shots are very hard to capture in an artistic manner, I feel less is the best ....unless the hands add to the story, are very lovely or you have both the groom and the brides hands together with the grooms hand as prop ......it's all about great composition .

Well that's my opinion anyway, it's not the only way as new ideas spring up all the time :)
Re: the ring posted by Va girl October 27, 2008 11:02AM reply | quote
posted by Va girl

Thanks Fugazi and Randy... perhaps this will work better.... I could have cropped even more if the sweet spot was sweeter....there is always next time!

Pam
Re: the ring posted by lokki October 27, 2008 02:25PM reply | quote
posted by lokki