Latest Post

1 day ago by TG-J

Re: Fisheye Star Trails

view post

Anatomy of an idea?

Newer Topic | Older Topic

Anatomy of an idea? posted by CatGargoyle March 02, 2012 06:34AM reply | quote
posted by CatGargoyle

Howdy all. I'd like your opinion on the flow of an idea from start to finish. As I am new to Lensbabydom, I'm not sure if I have lost its...flavor..as I worked on the image. I had found a Pueblo Rain God Pottery a while back. I used my composer with the wide angle in harsh light to get close.

Image 1 & 2 are what I got from the camera. I thought some texture would work well. Those are Pictures 3 & 4. I liked it, but thought the looked static. Put them together & got Image 5. While I like it quite a bit...have I lost the feel of a Lensbaby image? That's why I came here to ask you all.

BTW - Image 6 is what the final would look like without the texture.
Re: Anatomy of an idea? posted by Marcum March 08, 2012 12:08PM reply | quote
posted by Marcum

Pardon me as I try to answer your question.

...have I lost the feel of a Lensbaby image?

What is the feel of a lensbaby image or any other type of image? As in many cases within photography, or in any creative endeavor, the answer to such a question will be subjective. I find your work posted here well within the lensbaby rationale. For me Lensbaby means moving out of the box of traditional photography, whether it is placing the well focused sweet spot in just the right place in the image, or using them to achieve something different. The lensbaby is a tool no different than our "normal" optics we use to achieve an end. I happen to think Lensbaby does it better in many situations, but they do not always replace my Nikon lenses.