Latest Post

12 hours ago by PBlais

Sweet 50 with marco rings

view post

a day at the gardens...

Newer Topic | Older Topic

a day at the gardens... posted by CMH March 27, 2008 01:34AM reply | quote
posted by CMH

stressful days call for emergence in nature. yesterday's 70 degree temperatures found me at the local botanic gardens for the first time this year.
mission accomplished.
that being said, i admit to being a lazy photographer and usually shooting on auto. with a recently acquired canon 40D i thought it time to stretch a bit and finally start using the capabilities of the camera. (i'm self-taught, so baby steps) playing with small things like ISO can make such a difference! i love the almost 3D effect achieved with the LBO on a lot of the shots i took. the first two with ISO 1600; the last with ISO 800. o, and these are all sooc - no post processing.
baby steps. :D

[www.etsy.com]
[www.etsy.com]
Re: a day at the gardens... posted by RichB March 27, 2008 03:54AM reply | quote
posted by RichB

Cindi,

I agree -- anything to reduce stress! All are nice, but I really like the softness of the white and yellow of #1. ISO 1600 seems to have been key here -- was it a rather dark or subdued setting light wise? Sometimes I find grainyness with high ISO, but this is certainly not obvious in your image. Nice work!

Rich
Re: a day at the gardens... posted by essablue March 27, 2008 03:56AM reply | quote
posted by essablue

These look great Cindi! The "3d" effect on #2 is amazing, great shots!

Kelly
Re: a day at the gardens... posted by tominboston March 27, 2008 04:02AM reply | quote
posted by tominboston

Well it's not 70 degrees here. I had some time out today and couldn't find much color at all. I like the second one a lot.

Tom
Re: a day at the gardens... posted by CMH March 27, 2008 09:23AM reply | quote
posted by CMH

thanks so much rich, kelly and tom! :)

[www.etsy.com]
[www.etsy.com]