Lensbaby Studio Forums

Double Glass vs Sweet 35 vs Edge 80

Newer Topic | Older Topic

Double Glass vs Sweet 35 vs Edge 80 posted by Rick Diffley June 11, 2012 01:08AM reply | quote
posted by Rick Diffley
I'm considering the Composer Pro. After reviewing the online information, I'm still not clear of the specific differences AND capabities between the Double glass vs Sweet 35 vs Edge 80. It would be great to have a side-by-side comparison chart for each optic noting the advantage or capabilities of each vs the other. 

Can some experienced user help answer my question?

Thanks!
Re: Double Glass vs Sweet 35 vs Edge 80 posted by Coco June 11, 2012 01:20AM reply | quote
posted by Coco

I'm not experienced, but I've all three of them.
Sweet 35 and the Edge 80 are both with built in aperture, so you can change your aperture just by rotating it on your lens. The double glass has aperture disks - you can change that with a little magnet and clicking the aperture disc in it. Advantage of this system is that you can get the creative aperture set :)
If you browse through this forum you will find a lot of information about the differences between these three lenses.
The SW 35 and double glass don't really take different images. The effect of the double glass (the blur) is bit better than the SW 35 but not a LOT.

The Edge 80 is a 80mm lens, the double glass 50mm and the sw 35 is 35mm. The Edge 80 is really different from the SW 35 and double glass, it has more the effect of what a tilt-shift lens would do. There are blurs on the edges up and down or on both sides. But the edge 80 wont give you a sweet 'spot' like the SW35 and double glass. The edge 80 also has a Macro ability.
Re: Double Glass vs Sweet 35 vs Edge 80 posted by Bender June 11, 2012 05:31AM reply | quote
posted by Bender

You really should just start with the double glass and then go from there. If you dig the Lensbaby effect you'll end up with all of them anyway. :)

Peter