Lensbaby Studio Forums

Back to the 1800's. Lensbaby in Cyanotypes

Newer Topic | Older Topic

Back to the 1800's. Lensbaby in Cyanotypes posted by rannestad June 03, 2010 04:08AM reply | quote
posted by rannestad

By coincidence I came across a description of the cyanotype process. It is a very simple process for making paper prints from a negative (you are not limited to paper. Fabric can also do it).

I have been reading about other processes before, but the cyanotype was new to me, apart from the preset development method in "Lightroom", which I always though looked odd.

I studied the cyanotype process at alternativephotography.com, bought the dry chemicals on ebay, and voila, I was doing cyanotypes.

Contrast control is really difficult, but I am getting better control of it now, but there is a long way to go still.

For those of you who have never heard of it (as was the case for me one month ago), I will give you some info:

*It is not a digital plugin/filter etc.
*It is a method of making paper prints based on a negative.
*The light source is UV light. Usually the sun is used. I used a studio flash (which obviously emitts enough UV). Some use sun-tan lamps
*Due to the power required for processing, only contact copies can be used. I made contact copies by printing transparencies on an ink-jet printer (so there is a digital stage in the process, as I have done it)
*Two chemical compounds are mixed right before coating of the paper (Potassium ferricyanide and Ferric ammonium citrate)
*When working with the stuff you can use normal (not too bright) tungsten light. So no special requirements for darkroom lighting, light sealed doors etc.
*Development is made in water. Just as simple as that.

Some of the images have been presented here in the digital form, now transformed to 19th century photography technology.

The first four images are toned in tea.

Enjoy.

-----------------------------------------
My website: [www.fotoaalborg.dk]